The Graz University of Technology (TU Graz) was founded in 1811 by the Archduke Johann as a college. Since 1874 TU Graz is a full university of technology.

It comprises 7 faculties:

  • Civil Engineering
  • Architecture
  • Mechanical Engineering
  • Electrical Engineering
  • Mathematical and Physical Sciences
  • Chemical- and Process Engineering
  • Computer Science


The TU Graz offers 49 different study programs which are offered as diploma, bachelor, master and doctoral program. Currently about 9800 students are enrolled at the TU Graz. The outstanding research as well as the excellent contacts to the industry are both reflected in the participation in various competence centers, management of seven Christian Doppler-laboratories and numerous projects funded by the Austrian Science Fund and the European Union.